Wallace Benn apologises

Wallace Benn, the Suffragen Bishops of Lewes, has sent me an apology for his endorsement of a booklet the promotes the legalisation of rape within marriage and the criminalisation of same-sex relationships.

Along with several other bloggers, I drew attention two days ago to Benn’s endorsement of a booklet called Britain in Sin, written by Stephen Green of the fundamentalist group Christian Voice. The booklet opposes the welfare state, legislation guaranteeing equal pay to men and women, power-sharing in Northern Ireland and the UK’s membership of the United Nations.

The following morning (yesterday), I received an email from Wallace Benn’s office, saying that he wanted to “completely and absolutely disassociate” himself from the booklet. I blogged about this, saying that I very much appreciated the complete withdrawal of his endorsement but that I was disappointed by the lack of an apology.

This morning, Wallace Benn’s press officer sent me an email, saying that the bishop was responding to my blog post by issuing an addendum to his statement of yesterday. It reads as follows:

“I have asked Stephen Green of Christian Voice to immediately withdraw my apparent endorsement of his booklet. I apologise for any hurt caused or misunderstanding given”.

I’m very grateful to the bishop for apologising, although he has still not explained how he came to endorse the booklet in the first place or which part of it (if any) he agrees with. The endorsement still appears on the Christian Voice website, though it seems that this is Green’s fault for not responding to Benn’s request to remove it.

In response to some comments I’ve received about my blog, I should emphasise that I’m not trying to whip up personal hostility to Wallace Benn. I believe in forgiveness. This does not mean the issue should be ignored. If the bishop’s apology leads to fewer people trusting Green’s booklet, that will be a good thing.

I remain alarmed that a situation can arise in which a Church of England bishop can endorse a booklet that encourages rape, apparently without this being a major disciplinary offence or a big media controversy.  In 2010, the Suffragen Bishop of Willesden, Pete Broadbent, criticised the monarchy and made some ill-judged personal comments about members of the Windsor family. Despite apologising, he was lambasted in the right-wing press and temporarily suspended from his job. Is it is worse to criticise the monarchy than to sanction rape?

4 responses to “Wallace Benn apologises

  1. The book does criticise the monarchy – it accuses the Queen of repeatedly breaking her coronation oath, which is a very serious allegation indeed (arguably nastier than what the Bishop of Willesden said, and a good deal nearer treason, if you want to look at it that way). So I don’t know what on earth the Bishop of Lewes was thinking, other than I am inclined to believe him when he says he hadn’t read it. What he thought he was doing endorsing something he _hadn’t_ read is another question entirely, of course.

  2. You explain clearly and calmly the sequence of events. Either Stephen Green had never had any encouragement from the bishop to endorse his nasty little booklet (which I suppose remains a theoretical possibility, though the bishop does not offer this as an excuse) or the bishop’s judgement in endorsing a book which he has not read is so seriously impaired that one questions his suitability to remain in office. Although I did not agree with Bishop Pete Broadbent’s dismissal of the chances of success of the Windsor marriage before it had taken place, the error of judgment in this case is much stronger!

  3. Bishop Benn appears to have no idea what an apology is. “I’m sorry if anyone is offended” is no sort of genuine repentance. It’s merely a polite gloss on “I’m sorry I got caught.”

Leave a Reply

